Grand Theft Auto 6 is coming Nov 19, 2026At midnight local time around the world; in the US at midnight Eastern, 9 p.m. Nov 18 on the West Coast

17Days10Hours21Minutes12Seconds

What Rockstar Has Confirmed

Rockstar has confirmed that Grand Theft Auto 6 comes out on Nov 19, 2026 on PlayStation 5 and Xbox Series X and S, as a single player game starring Jason Duval and Lucia Caminos in the state of Leonida and Vice City, at $79.99 or $99.99, with pre-loading from Nov 12. It has not announced a PC version, an online mode, the download size, PS5 Pro details or a review date as of Nov 1, 2026.

Rockstar has confirmed that Grand Theft Auto 6 comes out on Thursday, Nov 19, 2026 on PlayStation 5 and Xbox Series X and S, as a single player game about Jason Duval and Lucia Caminos in Leonida, its take on Florida, and Vice City, its Miami, sold at $79.99 for the Standard Edition and $99.99 for the Ultimate Edition, with digital pre-orders pre-loading from Nov 12. This page keeps the official word apart from everything else: what Rockstar, Take-Two and the console makers have said themselves, as of Nov 1, 2026, each with its source, then what Rockstar has not confirmed, then what is only reported. Rockstar's own channels are the Newswire and rockstargames.com/VI; its studio heads have added details in interviews, which are named as such below. Rumors from leaks are kept on Leaks.

A grid of illustrated panels around the Grand Theft Auto 6 logo: Jason and Lucia embracing with a pistol, a small aircraft on floats, a speedboat with a flamingo, an armed man in a white suit, a woman in a bikini with a drink can, a yellow sports car, an alligator, a man in gold chains, and a rider doing a wheelie beside a police car.
The official cover art of Grand Theft Auto 6: Jason and Lucia at the center of a grid of Vice City scenes around the logo, by Rockstar Games. Rockstar Games

Quick facts

Release Nov 19, 2026 (Rockstar, Nov 6, 2025)
Platforms PlayStation 5 and Xbox Series X and S (Rockstar, Jun 24, 2026)
Mode "A single-player experience" (both store listings)
Price $79.99 Standard, $99.99 Ultimate Edition
Pre-load From Nov 12, 2026, for digital pre-orders (Rockstar)
Boxed copy A download code in a box, from Nov 12, 2026 (Rockstar)
Protagonists Jason Duval and Lucia Caminos
Setting The state of Leonida and Vice City
Rating ESRB M (Mature 17+), PEGI 18
Radio Plays on foot through headphones, with on-demand podcasts (Rockstar, Oct 8, 2026)
Album 34 original songs, out Nov 19, 2026 (Rockstar, Sep 17, 2026)
Not confirmed PC version, online mode, download size, PS5 Pro details, review date, playtime

Release date and platforms

Grand Theft Auto 6 comes out on Nov 19, 2026. Rockstar set that date on Nov 6, 2025, after moving the game from 2025 to May 26, 2026 and then once more "to finish the game with the level of polish you have come to expect and deserve", and it has kept it since; how it got there is on Release Date and Delays. Rockstar's pre-order announcement of Jun 24, 2026 names PlayStation 5 and Xbox Series X|S, and the PlayStation Store adds that it "will only be playable on PlayStation 5 consoles", so there is no PlayStation 4 or Xbox One version. The store listings unlock it at midnight local time in each store region, which Rockstar has not stated itself; see Release Time. Sony's listing marks it "PS5 Pro Enhanced" and Microsoft's "Optimized for Xbox Series X|S"; see Platforms and Performance.

Price, editions and pre-orders

Pre-orders opened on Jun 25, 2026 at midnight local time. The Standard Edition is $79.99 and the Ultimate Edition $99.99, every copy bought before Nov 20, 2026 gets the Vintage Vice City Pack, and digital pre-orders get a month of GTA+. In Rockstar's words, "Players who pre-order digital versions of Grand Theft Auto VI will be able to begin pre-loading on November 12, 2026," and "the physical version ... containing a download code inside the box, will be available starting November 12, 2026 to support pre-loading". The collector's box, The Goodtime State - Vice City Collection, is $400 and holds no game. Everything in each edition is on Editions and Pre-orders, and how to back out of an order is on Cancel a Pre-order.

Story and characters

Rockstar's own summary: Jason and Lucia "have always known the deck is stacked against them", and when "an easy score goes wrong" they find themselves "on the darkest side of the sunniest place in America, in the middle of a criminal conspiracy stretching across the state of Leonida". The two are playable and switchable; Rockstar's site introduces the supporting cast, among them Cal Hampton, Boobie Ike, Dre'Quan Priest, Real Dimez, Raul Bautista and Brian Heder. See Characters, Jason Duval, Lucia Caminos and Story and Missions.

Map and world

Rockstar's site names Vice City, the Leonida Keys, Grassrivers, Port Gellhorn, Ambrosia and Mount Kalaga. Rockstar North's Rob Nelson told TGG in August 2026 that the map is twice the size of Grand Theft Auto V's and three times Red Dead Redemption 2's, and Rockstar told Edge on Oct 29, 2026 that the whole landmass is nearly as large as the maps of GTA IV, GTA V and Red Dead Redemption 2 combined. Those are interview statements, not published figures; Rockstar has given no area in square miles or kilometers. See Map and Leonida.

Gameplay

What Rockstar showed in An Extended Look on Aug 27, 2026, and what Nelson explained to the press that week, is the official account of how the game plays: a six-star wanted level with a new heat system under it (Wanted System), a Criminal Profile that changes with how each character behaves (Criminal Profile), a relationship between Jason and Lucia that grows with time together (Jason and Lucia's Relationship), stats built with food and workouts (Activities and Stats), store robberies and heists (Heists and Robberies), cars that are stolen and sold to a fence (Cars and Driving), slow-motion Focus in fights (Combat and Focus) and a phone with a social media feed (Phone and Social Media). Nelson also said that "the consoles are running the game at 30 frames per second", with a 60 frames per second option still a question for the technical team.

Music and radio

On Oct 8, 2026 Rockstar previewed six of the radio stations and confirmed that the radio and new on-demand podcasts play on foot through headphones; on Sep 17, 2026 it announced "Grand Theft Auto VI: The Album", 34 original songs made with Atlantic Records, out with the game on Nov 19. On Oct 29, 2026 it announced "Grand Theft Auto VI: Original Score" by Justice, an album of the game's score, out Dec 11, 2026. See Music and Radio and Soundtrack.

Spending and online

The game launches as a single player game. Take-Two's chief executive, Strauss Zelnick, told shareholders on Sep 17, 2026 that there is "no recurrent consumer spending anticipated with regard to this launch", and that GTA Online on Grand Theft Auto V carries on as "a robust business". Rockstar has announced no online mode for Grand Theft Auto 6; see GTA Online.

What Rockstar has not confirmed

As of Nov 1, 2026, Rockstar has not announced:

  • A PC version, or any date for one; Xbox said on Oct 7, 2026 the game "will not be streaming exclusively or to PC". See PC Version.
  • An online mode for Grand Theft Auto 6, or a date for one. See GTA Online.
  • The download size. About 210 GB was reported on Oct 27, 2026 from PlayStation Network data; no store lists it. See Release Time.
  • What "PS5 Pro Enhanced" means: no frame rate, resolution or modes for the Pro.
  • A review date. Nov 18, 2026 is reported, not announced; see Review Embargo.
  • How long the story is, the number of missions or any ending.
  • Game Pass or PlayStation Plus: the game is sold, not in a subscription; see Game Pass and PS Plus.
  • Its languages in a list of its own; the Microsoft Store lists 13 for menus and subtitles and English voices; see Languages.

What is only reported

A few things circulate widely without Rockstar's word. The Nov 18 review embargo comes from the insider NateTheHate and Insider Gaming. The 210 GB size comes from PlayStation Network data. Sensor Tower's 6.45 million pre-orders is an analyst's estimate. Stephen Root as Brian Heder is the actor's own statement, not Rockstar's. Footage and claims from the 2022 hack and the 2026 CyberLeek posts are leaks, kept on Leaks, and this viki does not state them as facts.

Frequently asked questions

What has Rockstar confirmed about GTA 6? Rockstar has confirmed that Grand Theft Auto 6 comes out on Nov 19, 2026 on PlayStation 5 and Xbox Series X and S, as a single player game starring Jason Duval and Lucia Caminos in Leonida and Vice City, at $79.99 or $99.99, with pre-loading from Nov 12, 2026.

Has Rockstar confirmed GTA 6 for PC? No. As of Nov 1, 2026 Rockstar has announced Grand Theft Auto 6 only for PlayStation 5 and Xbox Series X and S, with no PC version or date.

Has Rockstar confirmed GTA 6 online? No. Grand Theft Auto 6 launches as "a single-player experience", in the store listings' words, and Rockstar has announced no online mode or date for one as of Nov 1, 2026.

Is the GTA 6 release date confirmed? Yes. Rockstar announced Nov 19, 2026 on Nov 6, 2025 and still gives it on rockstargames.com/VI as of Nov 1, 2026; the store listings unlock Grand Theft Auto 6 at midnight local time.

Has Rockstar confirmed the GTA 6 file size? No. About 210 GB was reported on Oct 27, 2026 from PlayStation Network data, but Rockstar and both console stores have not published a download size for Grand Theft Auto 6 as of Nov 1, 2026.

Has Rockstar confirmed 60 fps for GTA 6? No. Rockstar North's Rob Nelson said in August 2026 that the consoles run Grand Theft Auto 6 at 30 frames per second, and a 60 frames per second option had not been decided.

Does GTA 6 have microtransactions? Take-Two's Strauss Zelnick said on Sep 17, 2026 that "no recurrent consumer spending" is anticipated with the launch of Grand Theft Auto 6, a single player game.

Sources

See also

About this page

Last updated Nov 1, 2026 by the Vi.ki team. Page text CC BY-SA 4.0.

Edit History

Hotkeys

/
Jump to the search box
? or Ctrl + /
Open this list
Esc
Close this list, the photo viewer, or the account menu

Photo viewer

← → or A D
Previous or next photo
↑ ↓ or W S
Previous or next photo
Home End
First or last photo
I
Show or hide the photo's info
Z
Clickless on or off: a pointer over a thumbnail shows it
N
Compare with the last photo: back to the one shown before this, and N again comes back
Q
Move the thumbnails to the next edge: top, bottom, left and round
, or Ctrl + ,
Open or close the viewer's settings
V
Clickless pan: a zoomed photo follows the pointer, rather than being dragged
Shift
Browse on or off
B
Show or hide the button bar
T
Show or hide the thumbnails
1
100% zoom on or off
0
Rate the photo as no opinion; again takes the answer back
+ -
Rate the photo a step higher or lower
F
Full screen: the photo alone. F again puts everything back.
Back to top